Mayo beat Galway to win the 2023 Connacht Minor Football Final


Mayo retain the Connacht minor football championship title with victory over Galway

Electric Ireland Connacht MFC Final

Mayo 2-13 Galway 1-10

Early Exchange and the Mayo Response

In a much-anticipated clash between the reigning provincial champions and the reigning All-Ireland champions, Mayo triumphed over Galway in the Connacht minor football championship final at Tuam Stadium. Galway took an early lead thanks to impressive points from captain Shay McGlinchey to build a three-point lead. However, Mayo quickly turned things around, responding with five straight scores, including two from Darragh Beirne, who went on to claim man of the match.

Galway’s fighting and Mayo’s persistence

Despite losing Sean Walsh to injury, Galway regained control in the second quarter, scoring five of the next six points. Ross Cohen, Daniel Fitzmaurice and Olan Kelly all showed their goalscoring prowess for Galway, while Mayo’s Rio Mortimer scored their only point in the period. Galway went into half-time 0-8 to 0-7 down, but Mayo held on.

Mayo’s Bench is different

During the game, Mayo took advantage of the crucial moments, with the substitutes making a significant impact on the match. At a critical stage in the game, Mayo substitute Gavin Forry was fouled inside the box, resulting in Tom Lydon confidently converting a penalty in the 42nd minute. Mayo’s momentum continued to build as Forry and his substitute Thomas Taffy each found the net. The surge propelled Mayo into a commanding 2-10 to 0-10 lead, putting them in a favorable position to secure victory.

Galway’s late rally falls short

Galway’s Fiona Ó Conhale gave his side a glimmer of hope, scoring with his first touch in the 49th minute. However, this would be Galway’s final score as the Mayo defense tightened up and denied any further progress. Galway’s chances were further reduced when Vinny Gill received a second yellow card. Mayo effectively closed out the game and Tom Lydon converted two late frees, backed up by a lucky Darragh Beirne free.

Scorers and lineups

Mayo’s Tom Lydon was top scorer with 1-3, including a penalty, while Darragh Beirne showed his accuracy with 0-5. Thomas Taffy, Rio Mortimer, Fiona O’Reilly, Tiernan Egan, Cenan Guilfoyle and Gavin Forry each scored 0-1 in Mayo’s total.

Charlie Cox stood out for Galway with 0-3, including two frees, while Fiona O Conhale scored the decisive goal. Shay McGlinchey, Ross Cohen, Olan Kelly, Ciaran Mulhern, Daniel Fitzmaurice and Ciaran McDonagh added 0-1 to Galway’s tally.

Mayo’s goals. Tom Liddon 1-3 (1-0 pen, 3f), Darragh Beirne 0-5 (2f), Thomas Taffy 1-0, Rio Mortimer, Fionan O’Reilly, Tiernan Egan, Cenan Guilfoyle and Gavin Forey 0. -1 each.

Galway goals. Charlie Cox 0-3 (2frs), Fionan O Conhale 1-0, Shay McGlinchey 0-2, Ross Cohen, Olan Kelly, Ciaran Mulhern (f), Daniel Fitzmaurice and Ciaran McDonagh 0-1 each.

MayoConnor Meaney; James Lavelle, Rio Mortimer (capt), Yusif Coghill; Jamie Clarke, Eoin McGrell, Fionan O’Reilly; Tiernan Egan, Shane Cunningham; Colm Lynch, Cenan Guilfoyle, Dara Neary; Darragh Beirne, Tom Lydon, Josh Carey.

Subs:Gavin Forry for Kerry (35), Thomas Tuffy for Neary (42), Sean Walsh for O’Reilly (43), Conor Ryder for Egan (55), Ryan Gibbons for Lynch (60+1).

GalwayKillian Walsh; Conor McNally, Vinny Gill, Tiarnan Proulx; Brian O’Malley, Ross Cohen, Sean Rattigan; Shay McGlinchey (capt), Olan Kelly; Ciaran Mulhern, Charlie Cox, Ciaran McDonagh; Mikey Mulryan, Sean Walsh, Daniel Fitzmaurice.

Subs:Stephen O’Grady for Walsh inj (24), Sean O’Flynn for Rhattigan (40), Ruairí Walkin for McDonagh (44), Fionán Ó Conghaile for Fitzmaurice (48), Cillian Gannon for Cox inj (60+5).

LiveScores are now available on

Source link