Arkansas men, Arkansas women lead on final day

48 minutes ago
SEC staff

Photo: SEC Staff

BATON ROUGE, LA (May 12, 2023)—–The Arkansas men and Arkansas women hold the team lead entering the final day of competition at the 2023 Southeastern Conference Outdoor Championships held here at Bernie Moore Stadium.

The Arkansas men lead the team scoring with 57, followed by Georgia (35), Texas A&M (34), Mississippi State (31), Auburn (28), Ole Miss (26), LSU (22), Alabama (17). ), Kentucky (17), South Carolina (14), Tennessee (14), Missouri (11) and Florida (6).

Arkansas leads the women’s standings with 61 points, followed by Ole Miss (45), Texas A&M (43), Florida (37), Alabama (23), Missouri (22), Vanderbilt (22), Tennessee (16), Auburn (22). 15), Georgia (11), Kentucky (11), LSU (5) and South Carolina (1).

Individual champions Georgia’s Kyle Garland won the men’s decathlon with a record 8,589 points, also second most in collegiate history, while Vanderbilt’s Beatrice Juskiewicz won the women’s heptathlon with a 6,079 total.

Other women’s champions are Amanda Fasold of Arkansas in the pole vault (4.35m/14-3.25), Jasmine Moore of Florida in the long jump (6.88m/22-7), Alida Van Dalen of Florida in the shot put. (18.07m/59-4.5) and Ole Miss’ Kristel van den Berg in the 3,000m steeplechase (9:56.56).

Other men’s winners on Friday were Jordan West of Arkansas (20.57m/67-6), Roberto Vilches of Missouri in the high jump (2.21m/7-3) and Francesco Romano of Texas A&M in the 3,000m steeplechase (shipplechase). 8:54.79) and Wayne Pinnock of Arkansas in the long jump (8.37m/27-5.5).

Individual champions crowned Thursday were Auburn’s Madi Malone in the women’s hammer (68.69m), Ole Miss’ Tariq Robinson-O’Hagan in the men’s hammer (71.25m), Texas A&M’s Leanna Davidson in the women’s javelin ( 57.65 m). , Mark Minicello of Georgia in the men’s javelin (79.50m), Sydney Torvaldson of Arkansas in the women’s 10,000m (34:18.10) and Victor Kiprop of Alabama in the men’s 10,000m (29:58.43).

The SEC Outdoor Championships will conclude on Saturday with action beginning at 2 p.m. Live television coverage will begin at 5 p.m. on the SEC Network.

Source link